Home > Iron Curtain Metal > Metal Memories from Behind the Iron Curtain

Metal Memories from Behind the Iron Curtain


Accept - "Balls to the Wall" (1983)

By Agnieszka

Pitch Black Bridage welcomes our newest contributor – Agnieszka.  Here are some of her memories of metal in Polska – well, ok, it’s Accept so it’s sort of metal.  Welcome, Agnes!

It came unexpectedly, like a lightning bolt from the sky. I was enjoying my sandwich and daydreaming about what girls usually daydream about –shoes, when I heard that high pitched *ping*. New message! Hooray! I glanced at the screen to see the origin of the missive. The high priest of the Pitch Black Brigade, himself. What the hell does he want now, I thought. A curt, yet gentle order was starring me in the face: “So are you going to write your first post to the Black Metal blog about Kreator?” I smirked.  How could I say ABSOLUTELY NOT! to that?

I remember Kreator from my days in Poland! But my memory of them is severely clouded by a different memory, also Teutonic in origin. Of tall men in black, tight leather pants, lots of long blond, curly hair, strangely shaped guitars, and a little chubby dude with a menacing facial expressions, prancing around the stage, singing in a language I knew not. Their name was Accept. This video was on every (all two of them) channel of the state owned TV in 1984 or so.

Accept – “Balls to the Wall”:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=B_3TlrZLpQ0

As a 9 year old, I think I was impressed. More, I think, by a German band singing in English, and the non-rock’n’roll physique of the front man, than Accept‘s musical prowess. But, perhaps it is time to reevaluate. The video does look pretty good with no sound on, however.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

